top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

A Letter To Myself

A personal time capsule


Last week, I wrote a post about the importance of self reflection.


I hadn’t realised how much self reflection I have been doing, it is now as much a part of my day as brushing my teeth.


One important thing to remember when self reflecting, is that you must guve yourself time and space to do this, writing daily reflections mindlessly and never actually thinking about them again, serves no purpose.


I was excited to see that my first weekly challenge in my 6 Minute Diary, was to write an email to my future self for 6 months time, describing where I see my life at that point in time.


There were two websites given where I could use to do this. I decided to go with Future Me, which I had heard already heard of, I thought I may have even wrote a letter to myself in the past.


The idea is, that you write a letter to your future self, it can say whatever you want it to, you can even get ideas from the website. You then decide when would like to receive the letter, via email and click send. You will then receive the email on the date set.


How strange that a few days later, I received a letter to myself, that I had written a year before!


Here is what I wrote to myself.


Dear future me,

I hope you are happier in your own skin and not obsessing about your weight.

I hope you are in your new house and finally have the space you need.

I hope that you are continuing to improve yourself and are challenging yourself, do not let the depression and anxiety beat you.

I hope that you have more control over your eating and drinking habits as you know they are not good for you.

I hope that Toby is now sitting in your lap and using his bed.

Most of all, I hope you are happy xxx


It was strange and rather emotional to see read. I felt that I had my mindset had improved significantly in that year. Despite not moving house and Toby still refusing to get in his bloody cat bed.


It was really nice to hear from me.




Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page