top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

I’m giving up

Cards on the table.

I set an intention at the beginning of the week to track my food and. I wish I hadn’t.

It’s. So. Fucking. Boring.

You know what happens when I track food? I eat more, because I am always thinking about food.

I wanted to track my food to keep an eye on the nutrients I was getting, but as soon as I opened my fitness pal, it became a calorie counting exercise and I just cannot be arsed with that.

I get too obsessed! I once looked up the calories for a lemsip! I was ill, but still didn’t want to go over my calorie threshold. It’s a miserable existence and I’m just not needing this in my life right now.

Yes I could do with losing quite a few pounds, but it’s really not a priority for me right now. Life is too short, there are enough things to think about, to worry about and food isn’t going to be one of them.

So I am happily erasing that one from the list this week.


After I stopped obsessing over food, I started obsessing over my skin. I’m not sure if it’s my age, my hormones or what, but I have spots on my cheeks and dry red itchy patches on the back of my thighs. After some investigation, I have come to the conclusion that the items in my house are turning against me. More specifically, my beloved sleep mask and my sofa,

So my sleep mask is now being being washed more frequently and the seat of the sofa has a blanket over it. I will win this war!


Other than that, I’ve been feeling pretty bloody good. I’ve caught up with friends, had date nights with the husband and the painting is finally finished!

Meaning I had the unenviable task of putting the house back together. It was whilst doing this, that I realised to my horror, that the husband was right.

There I said it! He was right by saying we needed new carpet in the hallway, the fresh new paint made the carpet on the stairs look worse! The hallway and stairs are the first thing you see when you walk in the house, not what you want a buyers first impression to be.

So it’s all carpet samples and half packed boxes in the house at the moment.


My sensible self now just needs to pay off the last of my debt, I can get myself into the ultimate debt of a mortgage. Which means making a few cutbacks to my outgoings, one of which is my regular manicures & pedicures. My nails were looking pretty sad, so I decided to do my own mani/pedi. I actually really enjoyed it, I even finished the whole thing off with a face mask and a can of Coke Zero. The ultimate experience! 🤣


In other news, you may have noticed that I slightly changed the name of the page from “This is me” to “This is still me” I haven’t undergone a transformation or anything, I just got all anal about all platforms having the same name. On Substack, where I send my newsletters from, I couldn’t have “this is me” (rude) so I went with this is still me, because, well it is.


On that note, you can still sign up to my newsletter, in fact some of you, I have sent emails to 👀.

I know I keep banging on about it, but I would like to know your thoughts as it’s different content to the blog posts and if I am ever to make a career out of the writing malarkey, I will need some feedback, good or bad.


I’m off now to watch the final episodes of Married At First Sight Australia. What the hell am I going to watch after this is finished?? ❤️




1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page