top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Holding it together

Sunday 30th June

Wake up at 9am, blimey that’s a lie in for me! My friend is already up and downstairs.

After she leaves I get ready to go and visit some relatives who hasn’t been very well it’s quite a long drive but the traffic gods are on my side.

When I arrive the door I see just how poorly they are and it breaks my heart to see someone once so strong and full of life, now so unwell. I somehow manage to hold it together whilst I was there and decide to hold off on calling my brother to let him know how they are, I am worried I will cry. I felt awful for leaving but they seemed to feel uncomfortable with me there.

I drove home and waited until it was time to pick the husband up from the train station, I needed a cuddle.

When I pulled up at the station the husband was walking along I could immediately tell he was drunk, I was expecting that, but not this drunk! God!

He declares his undying love to me several times in the 20 minute journey home. My mind is elsewhere so when I get home I go into the garden and call my brother, I just need to talk to someone. He tells me he’ll visit our relative tomorrow and we arrange to meet up next Saturday after my next visit.

I come back in and the husband has passed out on the sofa, I settle down in front of the TV with a gin.



1 view0 comments

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page