top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Hangry Lady



Monday 20th May 2019

The husband got in about 1 acknowledged his return and went straight back to sleep.

I wake up about 9:30, consider going down for breakfast but I can’t be bothered to move, the husband is still sparko so I start reading. I’m reading The disappeared by Sibel Hodges which is very much like the program the widow, only better.

I start to get hungry and want to get the husband up and about before I get hangry. I start of gently mentioning that I’m hungry, should we go to Colin’s bar for lunch? He agrees and carries on faffing around with his phone. I get in the shower in the hope that the dithering will be over when I’m out, no such luck. I drop hints about him getting in the shower, my frustration mounting at an alarming rate. He knows how hangry I get! I show him a funny meme on Facebook about a girl being hangry, he laughs, I tell him it’s a hint. He gets up. FINALLY! Then he goes and stands at the balcony and is “enjoying the view” and starts talking about if you go straight you would hit the South Pole, he needs to check on his phone to find out. I finally lose it and shout at him, he’s now in the bathroom and he better hurry up! He’s out now and messing about on his phone I feel like screaming.

I’m fed and watered feeling much calmer, the beast has been tamed and the husband shall live to see another day. We managed to get a much sought after cabana, there aren’t many and they all get taken really early so I felt like I’ve achieved something.

Managed to get a nice selection of fruit for Fred and we’re currently on the balcony (me & Fred) I’ve got my glass of Rose and him with his cherry, slice of pineapple & a slice of orange, we’re having a great time.

We are off to the steak restaurant Sizzle tonight, we’ve heard really good things and it didn’t disappoint, the food, staff & service was amazing. I had chicken wings to start, I don’t usually do meat off the bone but I threw caution to the wind, then fillet steak & chips and finished off with with a salted caramel cheesecake.

My only minor bugbear is that it was really warm, there were fans everywhere but no point in air con as it was open air. The (older) couple at the table next to us comment on how hot it is and the woman goes on to say about “us” being Menopausal. Excuse me love, I’m 38! What the actual fuck? I’m hot because its 30 degrees outside, how old exactly does she think I am? What is this “us” business. Absolute liberty. I’m glad she leaves shortly after, I hope she sees the error of her ways. On the plus side I did pilfer a blackberry and strawberry for Fred 🐦

Both the husband and I are not feeling in a particularly party mood, we decide to go back to the room to freshen up (after my “menopausal” hot flush) and then head to the bar. It is now an hour later and the husband is snoring beside me whilst I’m in bed watching IT drinking a bottle of beer. This is my kind of party.

@sibelhodgeauthor @sugarbaybarbados


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page