top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Can I Get Lean In 15?

I’m giving The Body Coach books a try.


I feel like I am finally in a good place. After the last few years of ups and downs, my head feels a lot more straight and I feel like my life is about as together as it has been since I was a child. There is just one thing niggling away at me and it cannot be ignored.


My weight.


It’s something I haven’t been happy about for a fair few years now, more noticeably since meeting my boyfriend and getting into my mid-thirties (let’s just blame the boyfriend though).


I like food. It’s not that I am a greedy pig, I enjoy going out for dinner, I enjoy cheese & crackers with red wine on a Sunday night, I enjoy a huge bar of chocolate when I am feeling hormonal and I enjoy an alcoholic drink or two, sometimes a bit too much.


My love of food & alcohol was bound to catch up with me sooner or later, along with my disregard for exercise (I once joined a gym, had the induction and went home and ordered a Chinese takeaway, never to return, I had to pay for a full year too)


I have decided this year something has to be done. I am a bridesmaid for my best friend and I will be getting married myself, hopefully, next year. I have a black bag full of clothes, some with the labels still on, that do not fit me.


I’ve tried weight watchers & counting calories, which do work in the short term but I just feel like I am constantly thinking about what I can eat next and calculating points & calories, I find my conversations and thoughts revolve around it. “God, Sandra is eating that cake, it looks lovely but it’s got to be at least 350 calories” BORING!


Last year I joined another gym. I wanted to maintain my fitness after running the London marathon, although there was no weight loss from that, although that was probably because I told myself I needed to eat & drink to fuel my body, it turns out Indian takeaways and wine weren’t great for this.


I got a special offer on personal training so I gave it a go. I have never worked so hard in my life! It was pretty much all interval training. I enjoyed this way of exercising and I felt like I got more of a workout doing this for 30 mins than I did from 2 hours of running.


One day the PT asked me what I was having for dinner. My answer of cheese on toast was met with a frown. I leaped to my defense, saying that by the time I got home from work, I didn’t want to be slogging over dinner for ages and I hated salads.


She mentioned a cookbook I could buy where there were healthy recipes that could mostly be made in 15 minutes. Yeah righto! I said I would look it up (whilst eating my cheese on toast)


The following week, whilst surfing the internet, I remembered to look up these cookbooks, it was payday and I cannot possibly go without spending as much money as possible. I went onto Amazon and ordered it. Let’s see what this is all about.


When the Lean in 15 books arrived, I flicked through them half-heartedly, not expecting to see anything I liked. I decided to get the old post its out and stick them on the pages of the recipes I liked but I was surprised to find that I ran out of post its very quickly.


I decided to have a read of the introduction, and see what this Body Coach had to say, I mean he was alright looking but can he string a sentence together?


I don’t usually read introductions, especially not in cookbooks and especially not lengthy ones like this, but I was reeled in. The whole explanation made perfect sense when to eat what and why, don’t get on the sad step (weighing scales, which in my case is more a sadistic step) some things were obvious but the way it was explained just clicked in my head, I was excited to start!





Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page