top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

When your comfort doesn’t cut it

I haven't written for a while, work has been hectic, wedding planning has been stressful and my boyfriend had a bereavement.

I like to think of myself as someone who is good at helping others, if my friends have problems, I am usually one of the people they come to for advise or comfort. Which is why I have found myself in this unusual situation with my boyfriend. He's one of those types of people who do not want to be comforted, at least not by me and if I am completely honest, I have absolutely no idea how to deal with this situation. Of course, this situation isn't about me, he is the one who is grieving.I did not know this person very well at all, but I wanted to write about my experience here as it's not something I have experienced before I and I am finding it quite bewildering and if I am honest, really quite stressful as I want to help and comfort him, but I don't know how.

For the first time in our 5 years of being together, I genuinely don't know how to behave around him. Of course I have offered kind words and support, I took some time off work, but got the impression he just wanted to be alone, so I gave him some space, spending the entire time feeling incredibly guilty. When I have spoken to him about it, asking what he would like me to do, he would just say, do what you want to do. What I want to do is to make it all better and to not see him so sad, but I cant do this and it's so horrible, obviously not as horrible as what as he is going through I know.

I have to say the one thing that has helped immensely is my new-found knowledge of the Laws of Attraction. I think I would have absolutely be back in the Hole if I hadn't learned about this. I still feel very overwhelmed with everything going on, I'm only 2 months into my job which is very busy and quite pressurised and we get married in 2 weeks (this still hasn't sunk in) There are still so many little things to do for our wedding, the majority of everything I have already organised, but the last-minute things, which can't really be done until now, are coming up and I have had to admit to myself that I am struggling to cope with everything, last week I had a complete meltdown at work, luckily my boss is a good friend of mine and knows everything that's going on.

Usually, if I am feeling like this I can just get it off my chest and move forward but this time I just feel so unbelievably selfish for not being strong enough to deal with the situation, for not knowing the right things to say or do, for not being able to comfort and make my own boyfriend feel better, what sort of girlfriend am I? He's not massively into communication and likes to keep his feelings to himself so I am trying to respect that.

I feel guilty for talking about the wedding and wanting to feel excited about it. I have photographers etc emailing me with questions and whilst I am dealing with as much as I can on my own, some things do need his input. I have asked if he still wants to get married and he said that he does and that he is looking forward to it.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation?


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page