top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Facing My Fears — Why I’m Still Scared Of The Dentist

Updated: Jul 20, 2022

I had to face a rather big fear of mine today. The dreaded dentist. I haven’t been for five years. I know shocking right? No one likes going to the dentist, but my total and utter fear that makes me avoid it altogether.


The last time I went in, one of my back teeth had broken, I didn’t go straight away, I went a few months later when it started becoming unbearably painful. Because of this, I had to have a root canal.


It wasn’t as bad as I had imagined in my head, but during the procedure, I flinched and ended up swallowing some weird orange stuff they were using which then ended up coming out of my nose for the rest of the day. It was vile and I felt very sorry for myself, I even cried on the phone to my mum.


This being my last memory of visiting the dentist, I am sure you can understand why I have since avoided it.


I decided to soften the blow by going to see my best friend the night before, she cooked us a nice healthy dinner to help me stick to my healthy regime, although I’m not sure sharing 3 bottles of red wine is part of that. Oops.


Luckily I don’t get hangovers but I did feel rather tired and groggy the following morning, which put my plans for the day out of sorts. I didn’t do my Cardio Hiit, I didn’t have my green tea (to blast my belly fat) and I didn’t have the right breakfast. I resolved to do my Cardio on Saturday and make sure I eat well for the rest of the day.


My appointment was at the same time as my boyfriend, that way if there was anything too traumatising he would be there to deal with my meltdown, plus there was less chance of me backing out, which I thought about.


The dentist took a look at my teeth, nothing wrong with them (Yay) she took some x-rays, and then came the bit I was dreading, the clean. She gave me some plastic specs to wear, I wondered just how dirty my teeth were! I felt my entire body tense.


“Come on Clare, you can deal with this! How about some breathing exercises?” I told myself. It was a bit difficult when I got a mini Dyson hoover in my mouth.


“Think about the wedding”. Nope, Mini Dyson is back and he’s sucking up my tongue.


“Think about what you’ll write in your blog.” Nope, a bit of dribble going down my chin.


Thankfully it wasn’t too terrible and I managed to survive, so I rewarded myself with a sausage in a roll from the bakers for breakfast, which was also not part of my healthy eating plan, but as the dentist failed to give me a sticker or lollipop, I would reward myself.





Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page