top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Time for a resolution

Thursday 9th May

Woke up feeling dehydrated, feel confused as I haven’t had a drink since Sunday, then remember I had Chinese takeaway last night, so salty! I really notice it as I never add salt to my food even when cooking, I just don’t like it, weird how I like Chinese takeaway though! I didn’t actually eat a lot of it either, made up a small plate and would usually go back for more but I didn’t, I let myself get full and then went to bed.

Now I’m up and about to make my first shake. Eeek! Think I’ll play safe and go with strawberry.

I’d joined the Facebook group so had been reading up the night before, a lot of people were saying they use a blender with the ice, some were even saying it was like a McDonalds milkshake.

Put it in the blender, 200ml of water & 3 cubes of ice. Poured it in my jam jar glass with lid & straw, reserved purely for healthy things like this, so it feels like a special occasion. It doesn’t look like a lot, this is supposed to fill me up until lunchtime! I take the plunge. Ooh it’s actually ok. I couldn’t taste anything chemical like some people were saying but it also didn’t taste like a McDonald’s milkshake, I haven’t had one in a while but it wasn’t like the last one I had.

Walk to the station and see a woman probably about 30, she’s dressed pretty casually putting her little boy in the car and I start comparing myself, she looks lovely and there’s me in a dress I’ve had for years looking like a blob huffing my way to the station, if I wore that same outfit, which was simple black fitted trousers/leggings and an oversize shirt, I would look hideous.

I realise that comparing myself to others is not productive and I need to improve on my self talk, I’m the only one saying these things about myself, but I find it increasingly difficult. I know my husband loves me and I’m pretty sure my friends think I’m ok, but what good is that when you don’t think much of yourself? I need to stop this immediately. I’ve got a lot of self care books at home so I shall have a look at those tonight and see if my old friend google can rustle something up.

Have to drink lots of water with Exante, already had a litre this morning and I’m not even at work yet, this is good. I have a 750ml water bottle on my desk so will try and get through two of those today and then another litre tonight when I get home. I had to drink loads when I was on Joe Wicks and found that I really craved water when I was on it. Might even find my way to a bit of exercise tonight.

Dear God, McDonald’s have just liked one of my Instagram posts. 🙈 I’m sorry but why is Their food just so good Please *don’t* send free food!

I have totally forgotten that I am going to the theatre with my best friend tonight to see Girl on the Train. How the F have I forgotten this? I look a right state as well 😩

Starting to feel a bit hungry now, I had my shake over 4 hours ago. Am glad I’m having food for lunch now and a bar for dinner.

Met my friend for lunch and found myself on the 14:47 train home, she is a bad/good influence, whichever way you want to look at it. At least I can spruce myself up now.

Had a lovely night with the girls at the theatre and we're now arranging to meet up when we're all back from holiday.


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page