top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Thirsty Friday

Friday 10th May

Fuzzy head this morning and of course so thirsty. I much prefer sober mornings, especially when I have a half day which will no doubt contain gin.

Drank two pints of vimto this morning and now standing at the station wishing I had Coke Zero, will I make it past boots without going in and grabbing a couple of bottles, I didn’t have any yesterday. I know water will be better for me but it tastes so good.

On an earlier train, no seats left. Trying to lean on one of those weird leaning seats but the floor is slippery so I keep sliding forward, well this is irritating.

The husband has man flu and so does the man standing near me. I better not get it in time for the holiday. I need one of those masks to stop the germs from penetrating me. I definitely need coke zero after this.

Had a half day with my friend, met him at 12 left him at 5 in that time he had 5, very small, glasses of champagne. I however had a nice selection of wines, proseccos and cocktails. We met in a restaurant called Vivi in Centre Point, the waiter asked if we would like some nibbles, might friend says "Ooh I say" we went straight for the main. I had a delicious steak and some truffle mac and cheese (I needed to soak up the alcohol) We then took ourselves to the long bar in the Sanderson hotel and then onto the finale of the bar in the Langham hotel. where they kept replenishing our table with the most addictive honey roasted peanuts, for Christ Sake, cant you see I am trying to diet?!

Arrange to meet the husband to get the train home together, he is being time sensitive, this is the man thats never on time for anything! Luckily my friend knows a shortcut and we take a trip down memory lane through his soho days, you don’t want to know. I don’t want to know.

We arrive at the pub in the station, I love an old mans pub, but as you may have gathered from where we had spent the afternoon, its not really his scene, luckily for him, our train is here and he doesnt have to touch, let alone drink anything in there.

We get home and they have closed one of the main roads to get to our house, the husband has to pick his kids up so I walk home, this gives me time to decide I am not quite done for the day and message the husband and request some wine, I'm not quite ready for my boozy Friday to end.


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page