top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

The hoarder

Friday 3rd May

Wake up and refuse to allow the devil to win this morning, get up at 5:30 and get some exercise on the go, it’s only 15 minutes. Activation station it is. That wasn’t too bad, need to do something as it’s my friends leaving drinks tonight, feel like I’ve pre-paid my calories, well some.

The husband reads my latest posts, he’s not particularly happy at being referred to as a “fairy elephant” he obviously hasn’t read my other posts, ahem. Remind him that he is excellent material and that if I’m to make a living out of this writing malarkey then he needs to suck it up and take one for the team.

“But people know who I am!” “That’s only on Facebook, my posts are on twitter, Instagram & Wordpress too, people don’t know who you are on there. Yet”

Besides, I’ve barely touched upon all the fun elements of the husband so far, they’re all stored up here (I’m pointing at my head)

However, seeing as I’m on the subject of the husband (if you’re reading this you brought this attention on yourself, learn from this episode!) he is somewhat of a hoarder, he really doesn’t like throwing stuff away. One particular item springs to mind. We were clearing out some old furniture a couple of years back, it was being replaced and we had nowhere to store it so hoarder husband had no choice but to remove it from the house. I noticed there was a flat piece of wood still left, it was like to top of a small coffee table, I picked it up and headed toward the door

“no don’t throw that” he’s pointing at the wood. I look down and it, making sure that it wasn’t handcrusted in diamonds, it wasn’t.

“Why?” I couldn’t possibly fathom why he would want this random bit of wood. “I might need it when I decorate or something”

I kid you not, that is the reason. I laughed and headed back towards the door, where the husband followed me & claimed back his bit of MDF, it’s still leaning against the wall in my living room now. He has started decorating one room upstairs and it has not been used as yet. My friend often asks after the board, like it’s part of the family, at least I don’t have to feed it.

My friends last day in the office, we both pretend we won’t go out for lunch and will just go to a pasta place near the office, come 12:30 we decide that we want to go to a bar/restaurant nearby as we “don’t fancy pasta” to be fair we should have one last lunch working together, well for now, this is after all the 3rd company we’ve worked together at. We line our stomachs with some food and a couple of glasses of wine and head back then back to the office.

Her boss does her leaving speech at 4pm and as soon as that’s over we head out to start the leaving drinks hopefully I won’t get too drunk...


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page