top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

The fairy elephant

Friday 26th April


The husband gets in just before one, I wake up confused as I forgot he was out, he prances upstairs like a fairy elephant, lays on the bed, (diagonal of course) goes to sleep instantly. 10 minutes later he’s making some strange noise, sounds like he’s dreaming that he’s blowing out lots of candles. WTF.


3am, go to move from the foetal position to stretch my legs, nope the husband is there, ask him to move up to this end of the bed, he just points to this end of the bed, now taking up even more space.


The husband has kindly moved, stretch my legs, no he’s still there. I dreamt he moved!! Tired of being confined to one corner of the bed I take myself downstairs to the sofa and try to go back to sleep.


Husband wakes, calls my name, obviously bewildered as to where I am, I was in bed when he got home. Go back to bed, it’s now 7am, need to get up in just over an hour, I’m shattered.


8am the shopping will be arriving between 8:30 & 9:30, I’ll get up now and weigh myself. 2lb off, probably dehydrated from the alcohol.


Despite the weight loss I feel really gloomy, I know it’s the drink, I know I’m pissed off with myself for having wine last night, it was unnecessary. It’s done now just need to move on and stop dwelling it’s not doing any good except making me feel like shite.


Have a half day today, looking forward to my final treatment in my wellness package I bought from Ora Holistic. My god it was hands down the best facial I’ve ever had! I actually fell asleep it was so relaxing. Can’t wait to book my next one in.


Now on my way to my mums to hitch a ride to see my grandparents, my grandad has recently been in hospital and I hadn’t seen him since he’s been out, I made my new trademark cake, Victoria sponge with jam & buttercream as a little cheer up for them. Just need to make the buttercream as I didn’t have time, raid my nans kitchen for a mixing bowl, clouds of icing sugar everywhere, feel under pressure with everyone watching me!


So lovely to see them and my grandad was in really good spirits, resolved to make more effort to visit them. We’re all talking about food, Branston pickle comes up, I say to my mum it’s a bit bitter, my grandad turns round with a wrinkled nose and says “no I don’t like pizza!” We’re now all in fits of laughter!


The husband was still out for a few drinks after work so I decided to stay at my parents I was exhausted, covered in oil & icing sugar. Jump in the shower and pinch some of my mums PJs settle down with a sandwich & a glass of red wine (yes I know!) we all took ourselves up to bed at 10pm and I snuggle in bed to read. Love staying at my parents house.




1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page