top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

The book hangover

This review was intended to be of Truth & Lies by Caroline Mitchell, however, I became so engrossed in the book, I went straight into the sequel, Secret Child.

I absolutely loved these books. They are based on DI Amy Winters, who despite having a successful career in the police force, uncovers some very dark secrets about her past.

In the first book, Amy's adoptive father, who was also in the police force, has died. To add insult to injury, she then discovers that her biological parents are notorious serial killers, who were caught when she was four years old. Her biological father dies before he is sentenced and her biological mother, Lillian is in prison, waiting to announce her presence on poor Amy. She uses the fact that she knows where the last 3 remaining bodies of their victim are, to lure Amy to visit her in prison, where she reveals her awful secret.

In the second book, we see Amy investigating the kidnapping of a little girl, with the kidnapper who seems to have risen from the dead. Or have they? I made and unmade my mind up all the way until the end about who it was. Of course we have Lillian in the background, poking Amy with the proverbial stick.

I love the characters in these books, Amy, although successful is not superwoman, she's just like the rest of us (well kind of), my particular favourite character is Paddy, when you read the first book you may think he's a bit of an arsehole, but by the end you will realise he is a genuine guy. Adam & Lillian however, not so much.

I love the fact that you have the main story, but also other little mini stories running alongside it, yet it all seems to tie together nicely. I am now sitting here with lots of questions about what is going to happen next and I am left wanting more.

If you, like me, are a lover of crime, mystery & thrillers, that keep you guessing, then you will absolutely love these books.

I only have one question to ask and that is when is the next one out?? Theres only one thing I can do to fill the void and that is to read more of her books!!


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page