top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Surprisingly Sober surprisingly Happy

Tuesday 16th April


Woke up, yep I’m still miserable. Is this a side effect from not drinking I wonder? Remind self that this is part of the reason I’m doing this, to see how and when it affects me, trouble is it makes you want to bloody drink (maybe not at 8am that’s a bit early even for me...unless I was at an airport going on holiday...)


Weighed myself again I'm a pound down from yesterday, have wet hair this morning, wonder how much wet hair weighs, or hair at all, have a lot (on my head) could this possibly weigh a stone? Of course I googled it, weighs sod all, 0.18 pounds, guess if I had really thought about it, it cant weigh that much or I would have broken my neck by now. You certainly couldn't have a top knot, although that wouldn't be such a bad thing.


Now I'm in Google, I can't get out, Googling alcohol withdrawal symptoms, mostly talks about hangovers, which I don't get, did however mention itchy skin, may just be coincidence but I do randomly get itchy skin for no reason, like an allergy but there is nothing there, will investigate further into this, skin is now itching, why does that happen when you talk about itching?? Wonder if thinking about skinny will then make me skinny? Try it, still fat.


Had my nuts again, had to wipe nut dust from my dress before going into an interview, wonder if it is possible for me to eat anything without spilling it down me.


Think about how boring my lunch is today, chicken breast with Piri Piri seasoning and limp rocket leaves. Yay. Think about what I would actually want to eat instead, can't think of anything, decide to stop this as it will make eating this chicken even more miserable.


Mood is starting to perk up, not sure why, don't want to think about this too much in case I wake the beast.


Back on myfitnesspal food planning for the week, making myself hungry, trying to eat more protein, seems that comes with more fat, unless I am going to eat salmon, chicken and leaves for the next few weeks.


Just noticed I have a nice redspot right in the middle of my chin. WTF!


Feel like I’m coming down with something, wonder if this is withdrawals? Feel tired and have feels like a tension headache, the husband isn’t helping, he’s making dinner, loudly & begrudgingly after I moaned about it the other day, remember now why I do it all the time!


In bed feeling pleased with myself, I’ve eaten really healthy today, MyFitnessPal says if I eat everyday like today I’ll lose 8lb in 5 weeks, pretty sure I won’t manage to do that but get a sense of satisfaction from seeing it. Got my overnight face mask on looking like a granny, most importantly, have had 7 alcohol free days out of 9, 4 of those days in a row go me!


Wednesday 17th April


Didn’t wake up feeling groggy this morning, hurrah! Read an article, whilst waiting for the husband to get out of the bathroom - what does he do in there?! Article was about cutting back on carbs, apparently this can also make you feel crap, no wonder I’ve been feeling rubbish. I’m cutting out all the good stuff.


Weighed myself, another 2lb off hurrah! Feel motivated to continue, only 30lb to go, that’s 1lb per day, wonder if this is actually do-able?? Decide daily weigh ins are the way forward after all.


Walk to the station, actually feel quite full of beans, not dreading the day ahead, decide if this is how time off booze & carbs it might be worth it.


Wonder if I’m overdoing it with my Facebook posts for my page, consider putting a vote on there, when a friend messages to say how much she’s enjoying it, will save the vote for another day.


On train sat opposite possibly the most annoying of commuters, on your right you have loud telephone talker, he is speaking in what I think is Arabic, as he sounds like some of the guys I work with, but I swear he just said coq au vin, keep giving the death stare but he’s too engrossed in his conversation to notice, he’s repeating himself a lot. Consider trying to record him and translate but am then distracted by the man directly opposite me, Germ man. Coughing freely into the air, no hand over the mouth for him, he wanted to spread the love/germs, now he’s, for want of a better phrase, bringing up phlegm, so glad the train is pulling into the last stop. Clearly in a better mood today as feeling only mild disdain for these two rather than pure rage.


Came into the office to find a bag with a mini Easter eggs & lots of mini eggs in, will now be spending the rest of the day pretending it doesn’t exist.


Just saw this old guy in my office, remembered I had a dream last night that he died, was crying my eyes out in my dream like he was my bestie, never spoke to the man in my life!


Off to meet my friend for a lunchtime stroll, so sunny out everyone’s outside the pubs drinking, normally the sun makes me want to drink but then so does the rain, wind & snow. Didn’t have (or want) a drink.


Keep seeing that old man I dreamt about even saw him in boots at lunch time. Freaking me out!


Brother messages to tell us that they’re having a baby girl! How exciting! Can’t wait to start buying things for her!!


Make a delicious lasagne for dinner, go to bed booze free and in a calorie deficit. Fuck Yeah!


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page