top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Sleep won’t come easy

Wednesday 15th May

It’s 3:40 and I can’t sleep. Thinking about the messy kitchen downstairs. I try to ignore the voice in my head but the next thing I know I’m emptying and reloading the dishwasher, washing up and tidying up. WTF is wrong with me. I do feel a sense of satisfaction, although I want to hoover but I think the husband would lynch me. I know when he gets up I’ll be following him around making sure he doesn’t make a mess.

I’m hungry, make myself tea & toast, I think this is officially my earliest breakfast ever! Hoping it will send me into a food coma whilst watching back to back episodes of the hills. The food coma won’t come, at 5:50 I decide to get back in bed for an hour, the husband will be getting up soon. To my utter astonishment not only is he awake, he’s actually out of bed.

Sleep is still not coming, my brain is a hive of activity I need it to calm down. I’m even thinking about what I need to order for shopping in 2 weeks time! I’m not even there yet and I’m thinking of coming home!!

Managed a 30 minute doze and now at the station, all on time no one is more shocked than me. I had visions of screaming at the husband all morning, but he has done me proud. I can now go into work relaxed and a bit tired.

Go to board the train with my 23kg case and some bint tries to push in front of me. I mean seriously? She got a case on leg, maybe let the woman with the heavy case at the front of the queue on first? I was happy to see that someone else got the seat she was rushing for. Helmet.

No more work until June hoo-bloody-Ray. Now in the hotel bar, the barman said if ordered two large glasses of wine I got the bottle, I mean who am I to argue? The husband better hurry up for his own sake.

Woman speaking on her phone on loudspeaker! Why? I hope the person on the other end says something really personal about her so we can all hear.

It’s not even 7pm and I’m exhausted? Trying to blame my 3:40 am wake up but the bottle of wine probably hasn’t helped. Everyone sounds Scottish. Either there is a big flight to Glasgow tomorrow or I’m far too drunk. Need to not sing 500 miles....

We’ve eaten and now on a sofa in the bar, I’m concerned that we will do what we do best and fall asleep on the sofa and be woken up by some poor unsuspecting cleaner. We decide to get some Prosecco and go up to the room, by half 9 my eyes are closing and I decide to give in to sleep leaving half a glass of Prosecco, I must be tired. Drinking a bottle of wine to myself on very little food wasn’t the best idea I’ve had.


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page