top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Plank Wraps & Prosecco

Thursday 11th April

Kept waking up in the night, wondering if it was almost time to get up, felt so good when I saw it was 1.30am and realised I still had 4 more hours to go before the dreaded alarm goes off. Why is it when you have to get up early, you always keep waking up, as if you're going to miss your alarm or something? Can’t recall ever oversleeping in my entire life so not really sure why at 38 years old this bothers me.

Alarm finally goes off, lie there for a few moments, realising that the night sweats were minimal last night, then my blinking goes on for too long, realise I am in danger of falling back to sleep.

Drag myself downstairs, where I had prepared (thrown) my gym clothes, didn’t want to make this any harder than it already was.

Get through 20 minutes of boxer core, only one move I didn’t do, no it wasn’t the torture twists - although they are as evil as they sound - it was Plank Wraps. You read that right, PLANK WRAPS. Planks are hard enough without including some sort of wrap situation, who finds these moves? Was someone just casually doing a plank one day and then reach up to the side and get a glass of water and put it back? How about let me get my head around the plank first please and then I'll consider throwing in the wrap.

Pleased that I'd actually got up AND got through the session, got myself ready for work. Need to be in early, have a half day for my final birthday celebration lunch (yes I am aware it was 2 weeks ago) then am off out after with the husband to see a comedian. He’s rather concerned that I am going to turn up, for want of a better word, smashed, have assured him that I am turning over a new leaf and that I have no desire or intention to get "smashed", I will be drinking but I will be drinking like a normal person. Very determined to become one of those.

Trying to watch The Victim (BBC One soo good!) on my commute this morning, found everywhere was so bloody noisy, trains, people, workmen drilling and banging, not sure if I am irritated because I am tired, I don’t appear to get this exercise high that people go on about.

Put all of today’s food into MyFitnessPal in the hope of brainwashing myself into eating this, have fruit for breakfast, now looking at the lunch menu, will have Salmon Fillet with asparagus (no chips, no chips, no chips!!) Hoping to go Flat Iron for dinner so will have Flat Iron Steak, Peppercorn Sauce and Creamed Spinach which is delicious, do love their beef dripping chips but will have to see how much I have behaved myself. If I stick to this plan, this leaves me with just over 800 calories to spare, if I can stick to alternating G&Ts with water or diet coke I should be golden, let’s see how I go.....

Made it through lunch, pretty bloody pleased with myself, drank lots of water between gins had some nice food - not the salmon - had prawn and monkfish curry oh and chocolate bomb (oops) Am now sitting in the theatre with wine, with the husband, pretty proud of me, although I can feel the devil juice kicking in kicking in.

Now on the other side, drank 3/4 of each wine and gave the rest to the husband. Support act was sadly rubbish, usually love support acts, but this one seemed to have his own agenda. Politics/Brexit, not really my bag, came for a laugh, not for your political views. Luckily the main act was hilarious, now we're in another bar waiting for our table at flat iron.

Have not, as usual, tried to match my husband’s pint with (large) wine, have a glass Prosecco (thats half the size of a large wine for those of you not in the know) Husband has finished his pint before me, it wasn’t even conscious.

Showed him a draft of my blog “Less Drinking, More Thinking” he actually read it! Took him a whole year to read a book he liked but he actually sat there and read my blog and seemed interested, feeling so proud! And guess what he’s at the bar ordering me a Diet Coke! Feel like I’ve taken the chains off!

Having dinner, husband is let’s just say drunker than me, he’s ok but I’m just not used to being aware of other people’s drunken levels, this is so bad! That was me!

Now in an Uber with Hamed, The husband is asking where the driver is from, from even though that was my opening line 10 minutes ago, god drunk people are really annoying, no wonder I drink!

Thinking that I had more beef dripping chips than I should have (was having none, they just appeared) Am however, proud of the fact that I am fully aware of what’s going on, won’t lie I’m a bit fuzzy but feel much more in control of my drinking.

Home safely, how is the husband more drunk than me? I know I’m a functioning alcoholic but I’m not invincible! Feels weird but also good to be the sensible-ish one, it’s rare.

Now upstairs, there is lot of crashing and banging going on downstairs, asked for a pink gin and tonic but it sounds like The husbands got the ironing board out and is torturing someone/thing, oh he’s found a Christmas pudding, he wants to know how to cook it, never liked Christmas pudding let alone cooked it.

He’s upstairs now, suspiciously quiet. He better not be lying diagonal across the bed!


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page