top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Just Gin & bear it

Saturday 27th April

Slept like a baby. Feel all snuggled. The husband messages saying he’s not feeling great & had a terrible sleep, now really glad I stayed at my parents.

Get up and Mum makes me tea & breakfast, maybe I’ll move back home? Quite enjoy not having to do anything!

Convince my mum to try hello fresh, she gets panicked about what day to get it delivered, try to tell her it can be changed but she’s all in a tiz, my dad who has had his head in his iPad up to this point, gets annoyed with my mum for stressing and a small bicker ensues with me sat in the middle drinking tea ha!

Head home feeling refreshed, have a sing off with the radio, feeling pretty bloody good!

Make the kids some toast when I get home, the husband surfaces, I feed him also, he’s trying to convince me he is “unwell” nothing to do with his alcohol consumption at all, not buying it. Take myself upstairs, leave them watching football and him sympathising with himself, whilst I have a cup of tea & watch a horror film.

Now we’re out for my best friends mums 25th anniversary dinner. I always like coming out with this group, I feel so at home, like I’m out with my own family.

Sat with my friend who runs a pop up gin bar called the Gin Hand, offer my services as bar staff if ever they get stuck, think they are concerned I will drink more than I serve, I thought the one for you one for me policy was standard practice?!

Discuss my posts with her, so flattered and grateful that people are choosing to read the ramblings of my mind! Must get started on that book.

So full, the food was delish, had mushrooms on toast to start, (was a bit like bruschetta com fungi from pizza express) salmon fillet for main & chocolate cheesecake for dessert, which I couldn’t finish, will regret that later!! Also tried a new tonic water with my gin thanks to the Gin Hand recommendation, it had cucumber in it was so refreshing, think about getting some for home, then remember I’m trying to drink less, keep forgetting this.

Get up and have a dance, not sure you can call it dancing, felt like a toddler who’s just learned to stand and then bounced when the music comes on, is this old age? I used to think I was a bit of a mover on the dance floor, that was probably the booze, think I’m great at a lot of things when drunk.

Now home having a glass of wine, kids are in bed, say something to the husband, he has passed out, take myself up to bed. Back on the wagon tomorrow and I’m quite looking forward to it.


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page