top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Holiday Time


Thursday 16th May 2019

Holiday time is here!! Wake up and jump in the shower, then force the husband out of bed. As per usual he takes forever, despite having everything organised. Remember having an odd dream that he had his knuckles tattooed with letters that looked like they had been drawn by children, I was horrified.

When he finally emerges, I resort to nagging as I wanted to have a bit of time at the airport. Despite staying virtually in the airport, we still arrive less than two hours before departure. I am not impressed. Luckily we have priority boarding so get through a bit quicker. Walking through the departures lounge to get some breakfast, the husband wants to put on some aftershave, by this point I have steam coming out of my ears, he wisely picks up the nearest bottle and spritzes. Let’s go!

I have some breakfast and the traditional glass of bubbles, then it’s time to board. No shopping for me then. Fucks sake.

I am soothed only by more Prosecco upon boarding. I settle into my seat with my drink and start with the film fest. First, The Favourite. I love Olivia Coleman. She’s a bit of a bit a psycho in this film, I can relate to that.

I watched another film called Jonathan and then bohemian rhapsody, which I cried at, I’m not particularly a Queen fan but it was bloody brilliant.

We have landed, even though the flight was over 8 hours, it went by so quickly, we were constantly being fed and I had about 8 wines, 2 Proseccos and a liqueur (which I don’t even drink - they offered!)

I have to say it was the best airport reception I’ve had, we were greeted with local drinks of ginger ale or lemon and ice cold bottles of water. It is bloody hot! I will certainly be in the pool quite a bit. The temperature says it’s 30 but real feel is 37, even my eyelashes are sweating!

We’ve arrived at the hotel, it’s absolutely beautiful I’m just sitting on our balcony, a stones throw away from the sea, I’ve finished the welcome drink of rum punch, which I left on the table on the balcony while I FaceTimed my mum, then some little bird flew over and started eating my decorative orange, Fred (the bird) and I are now firm friends and he has mine and the husbands oranges on our balcony. Im now sipping a glass of the complimentary bottle of rose for our first anniversary. Right now I feel like the luckiest girl in the world.

I’m halfway through the cocktail menu, have a secret stash of melon in my bag to put on the balcony for Fred when I get back. Felt like a mental person wrapping it in a napkin in my but the birds got to eat!

We’re both exhausted but fighting it. There is a movie on the beach tonight but I can see us just falling asleep waking up looking like mr blobby covered in mosquito bites. We head back to the room with our drinks and I eventually give in to sleep.


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page