top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Down but not out

For the first time in as long as I can remember, I woke up on Monday morning and was actually looking forward to weighing myself. I had been so good last week, stayed just under my suggested calorie intake given by MyFitnessPal, apart from one day where I went slightly over (balance right?) I only drank wine on Friday and had a couple of gin & slimlines on Saturday and remained alcohol free for the other 5 days of the week - this is good, for me! I had an Indian takeaway on Friday night, which I got up early on Friday morning and sweated for 30 minutes to earn some calories towards, then later on, I was rather drunk, thanks to the wine and after asking my husband 3 times what he wanted, I still ordered the wrong thing. I only ate half of my dinner before falling asleep on the sofa. I was tempted to eat it for breakfast on Saturday but this wasn’t in the meal plan I had written down so I binned it. Willpower!

So back to Monday morning I bounded downstairs and hopped on the scales. WHAT?! - I actually shouted this out loud - How have I stayed the same?? I even hauled my arse off the sofa on Sunday afternoon for a rather gruelling 45 minute session of peaks & valleys on the Nike App.

I went back upstairs, with a lot less enthusiasm than 10 minutes before and whined to my husband about my lack of progress. “But you’re doing really well and you’re enjoying it, don’t let it put you off” and off he took his (lean) self to the bathroom.

I sat and thought about it, I was really enjoying it to be fair, I was enjoying the food I was eating, the cooking and even the exercise, I felt better than I had in ages and when I’d had the wine on Friday it wasn’t that enjoyable, I could have easily done without it. This was just probably a backlash from Christmas and me feeling smug from only gaining 1lb since the end of November.

I have resolved to keep at it, I mean in all fairness my body is probably wondering what the fuck is going on having not seen a vegetable in the entire December, it’s probably wondering what to do with it all! Then there is the lack of booze, my body could definitely be in shock. I need to help it through this hard time and if that means it needs to hold on to a few pounds then so be it, for a few weeks that is, any longer and we’re going to fall out.

I’ve also completed my first week of the Nike Training Club plan. I’m actually really impressed with it AND its free!

It’s like having your own Personal Trainer in your phone.

I’ve signed up to the lean fit plan, which is a six week plan. I’ve chosen to workout 2-3 times a week, you have the option to add extra workouts to the week if you want to, you select the difficulty level and can include any equipment you have (if you have any) I have dumbbells, a skipping rope & a kettlebell, it also asks if you want to include running in your plan, I’ve said no as my poor knees have had enough or running!

Last week it set me out 3 workouts, an endurance test for Monday which said it was 9 mins, 30 mins of Lunges & Length(?!) on Friday and 45 mins of peaks and valleys on Sunday. I had the option to swap the days around if I wanted to, but this suited me, well I thought so until Sunday came and I didn’t want to move of the sofa, but I’m glad I did.

The Endurance test is given every couple of weeks this is to test your fitness, you are given a number of moves to do i.e press ups (don’t worry I’m still on my knees with these too!) so say 10 press ups then you press the tick on the screen to say you’ve completed it, so, in theory next week I should be able to do those press ups slightly quicker as my fitness will be better.

You can view the moves before you start but they do show you in clips before each move as well as during the allotted time slot, I had the voice or drill I think it’s called, turned on so you’re instructed throughout the workout, love hearing those magic words “5 seconds left” even though those 5 seconds seem like a year. The only move I actually struggled with is the plank but they do give alternate options during the workout, but I’m quite determined to perfect my plank throughout this plan maybe this will help me to do a proper press up as well, not that this is really top of my wish list!

At the end of each session it asks you to rate how difficult or easy you found the workout and where you worked out (home/gym/outdoors) it then uses this information towards your future workouts.

All in all I’m really really pleased with the app and I’m really enjoying the range of exercises so would definitely recommend it, none of the workouts are longer than 45 minutes and can easily be done at home whenever is suitable for you.

So despite my progress on the scales, I have definately made progress with my exercise and eating habits, lets hope the scales catch up with me next week.


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page