top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Cheers to the long weekend

Saturday 20th April


Wake up with the slight grog, stuck to my 4 wines oh and a gin, I can live with that.


Hop on the scales, ANOTHER 2lb off! That’s half a stone since Monday. So bloody happy with that.


Off to the coast today The husband is trying to convince me that I should allow myself some carbs for breakfast as I will need the energy, really reluctant don’t want to undo all my hard work, a couple of hash browns won’t hurt I guess. Concerned about drinking today too, got drunk so quickly last night, decide I will drink water & Coke in between like I did last week and most importantly avoid wine, wine is now reserved for dinner time only once or twice per week.


All packed and ready to go for the last hour, the husband is upstairs doing god knows what, we were supposed to have got there 10 minutes ago, it’s an hours drive. He’s now sat next to me and it’s like watching someone move in slow motion


Finally arrive at 1:30pm rather than the arranged time of 11am, luckily the husbands friend is only too aware of his time keeping skills and has not been waiting too long, in fairness we did get caught in traffic, this is the UK, the sun is out, everyone is programmed to head for the coast.


Fortunately, we’ve booked a hotel slightly back from the coast itself and we take a 30 minute stroll down a very steep hill to get there, we are moving faster then the traffic so I’m glad we booked where we did. Won’t be walking back up this hill later!


Ahh a pub! We stop to have a quick drink, gin & slimline as planned, ask for a tap water, the husband forgets it, no worries I’ll have it next time. So nice to be sat in the sun, everything just seems better in the sun.


We’re on the move again, walk along the front to a pub dogs everywhere, I am in heaven! Pub has a queue out the door for the bar! Finally get a drink, the husband forgets tap water again, don’t have the heart to send him back into the fray or go myself. Next time.


Head to another bar, more gin, still no bloody tap water!! Now husbands friend brings gin and a bottle of Prosecco oh dear lord, decide maybe I should have a small snack while the husband and friends wife are having oysters, ooh they have scotch eggs, do love a scotch egg. Oh it’s black pudding Scotch egg erm no thanks, I’ll wait for dinner.


After 2 more rounds of ginsecco we are pretty well oiled and hungry, it’s now 8pm. Stumble out of the pub there is a zizzi across the road, perfect. Calzone me up, share a bottle of rose with friends wife.


Everyone is tired, it’s 10pm so decide to go back to the hotel. Order a cab, friends wife and I decide to sneak our glass of wine out with us, everyone goes outside, stand up, spill entire contents of bag on floor, waitress comes over to help, want her to leave as I want to take my wine, thank her, stand up, knock my chair over with the loudest crash, why is it when you’re trying to be inconspicuous, you’re anything but. Waitress once again helps me, decide I’m never getting out with this drink secretly so simply say, “I’m taking this with me, just pretend you didn’t see it” she laughs, not sure if it’s with me or at me? Get in the cab, feel it’s always my duty to befriend poor innocent cab drivers, always start my asking their name. His name is warren, or as I clearly like to call him Wozza, I punctuate every sentence with Wozza! The poor man.


Get back to the hotel, Husband lies across the bed diagonally (of course) thank god there are no Christmas puddings around!



0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page