top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

Caribbean Dreams







Tuesday 21st May

Had a bad dream last night, dreamt there was a creepy toddler in the house I was trying to warn the husband but I couldn’t speak, so I screamed but actually screamed out loud and woke the husband up, oops.

I’m now on the balcony with a cup of tea, Fred is enjoying the fruit I got for him last night. The husband had a lime left in his G&T yesterday so I tipped that out too, spilt a bit of leftover gin but Fred seems to like it.

We decide to walk into bridgetown today, it’s about a 45 minute walk, we agree that we should head out before the midday sun is upon us. Of course, this doesn’t happen and we leave at 11:30. As we leave the resort this white minivan toots us, it’s the bus! Brilliant, we hop in, I don’t know how but this tiny van had about 13 people. We had the Caribbean music blaring as he zipped us into Bridgetown, much more fun than a London bus! We arrived in Bridgetown, had some cocktails, did a bit of shopping - I bought a hat for my burnt head - then got a taxi back. We realised on the way there that it was a ridiculously long walk with not much along the way so glad that little bus turned up!

We’re now by the pool, I’ve started reading The Passengers by John Marrs, I’ve read all of his books and they’re brilliant, this one isn’t disappointing either.

Go to the swim up bar, order a sprite then I see the barman hand the girls opposite an amazing looking cocktail, I get cocktail envy and change my order, apparently it’s his specialty, it’s called the kiss. It’s bloody delicious has chocolate liqueur, rum cream & raspberry syrup, tastes like a milkshake. Too many of these and it will be kiss my ass.

There is a really good carribean show on at our hotel tonight with dancers, men on stilts & a limbo dancer. After they had a DJ on and he played the Candy song, my friends have tried so many times to teach me this dance, I just cannot learn it!


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page