top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

And they’re off



Saturday 25th May

I met the husband 6 years ago today at we are festival, I lost my phone that day and I knew I must have liked him when I actually didn’t care, if it happened now I would probably be screaming at him.

Today we’re going to the races which is right near our hotel. The husband spent over an hour the night before studying the form (snore) before I politely told him we had dinner reservations. Before we go to the race track, the husband needs to get some cash out so rather than a short 5 minute walk we have to walk 10 minutes past the track so he can use the cash machine, it’s so bloody hot I need shade. We get seated in the grandstand in the shade (yay) and we’re right by the finish line. I seem to have an admirer in the form of an 8 year old, trying to sit next to me and talk to me while the husbands getting drinks.

The husbands studying doesn’t seem to have worked, he doesn’t have a win until race 4.

Feeling really yuk, hoping it’s the heat praying I’m not becoming part of the hangover crew. Try sprite, nope, try full fat coke, nope, try water, YES! Feel a bit better thanks to the aqua so I then get a glass of white wine, that’ll do. Don’t want to go too mad and there’s only one more race to go. Wonder if I will be able to get out of my seat or if I’ll be stuck via sweat. Keep standing up to avoid this.

We go back to the hotel only having won in one race. It’s the last night as the sugar bay six, the other 2 couples are going home tomorrow. We all meet up after much coconut shrimp, we get out the bubbly and drink until the bar closes.


0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page