top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

5 Of My Favourite Ghostly Things To Watch

In search of the superatural

I am a massive fan of horror films, I'm not sure what it is about being scared that I enjoy. I do prefer a good old-fashioned ghost story to a slasher movie, blood and gore do nothing for me, except put me off my food.

I find the supernatural intriguing and I am in awe of people that come up with these amazing stories.

There are 4 Insidious films and a quick peek on IMDB tells me there is a 5th in pre-production, which excites me!

The first film starts a lot like many horror films, with a family moving into a new home. Their son has an accident in the attic and falls into a coma.

His lack of response sends them desperately searching for answers, leading them to Elise Rainier, a psychic who helps them enter the mysterious realm of The Further, to save their son.

Insidious has an original storyline, a great cast, is very jumpy and most importantly, scary. I often go back and re-watch the Inidious films.

I've found that not many people have heard of this film, which surprises me. It's a brilliant combination of mystery and horror.

It starts with a flashback of a young Kaylie & Tim Russel trying to avoid an agitated man with a gun.

We are then brought to the present day where a 21-year-old Tim is discussing the incident with his psychiatrist, who then discharges him from a mental facility.

We soon learn, that as children, the arrival of an antique mirror has a strange supernatural influence on their family.


Oculus is pretty mind-bending, it's different from any other horror I have seen before and quite terrifying.

As well as playing one of the main characters in Insidious, Patrick Wilson is one of the stars of The Conjuring films, playing Ed Warren, husband of Lorraine Warren, who are paranormal investigators.

There are 3 Conjuring films, each based on real-life investigations of Ed & Lorraine.

The first film is about a family who move into a new house when strange occurrences begin to happen. After exhausting every other avenue, they reach out to Ed & Lorraine for help.

The film is tense, with spine-tingling scares. A true old-fashioned ghost story, based on true events.

Straight from the mind of the brilliant Stephen King, this is my go-to horror. I've watched it so many times and I still enjoy it.

Mike Enslin has made a career in the supernatural. He has written books and investigates supposed, hauntings, something he doesn't appear to believe at all.

His next job is to spend a night in The Dolphin Hotel, where room 1408 is believed to be haunted. Cynical as always, he settles in for the evening, only to find that he is going to have far from a relaxing night.

The psychological scares are brilliantly done and there are a few unexpected moments in there, as you would of course expect from a Stephen King story,

This Netflix series was truly brilliant, I watched this with the husband as I found it genuinely scary.

It's about a family who grew up in a haunted mansion. Each episode shows the back story of a family member as they are brought back together by a tragedy.

It is unsettling, it is jumpy, it is creepy and there is the bonus of hidden ghosts in each episode for you to look out for if you dare!


What's your favourite scary movie? ♥️




Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page