top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThis is still me

2019 I’m ready for you

We made it through the first week of January!

I spent the first half of January on holiday, so forgive my late start, it's quite difficult to start a health regime when there is free food & booze a plenty! I did however, start my meal planning, organise an online food delivery for when I returned and cancel my gym membership all on New Years Day, so I was definitely in the right mindset.

I know that cancelling the gym doesn’t sound like part of a good weight loss plan, but after looking at the new timetable, I found that the classes I loved were either at different times, which were inconvenient or were no longer at my gym so it seemed a waste of £102 per month. I have discovered the Nike Training Club app instead, ok I’m probably a bit late to the party on this one, but I’ve signed up to a free 6 week plan, exercising 2-3 times per week, this is in addition to the 40 minute walk I do 5 days per week as part of my commute. That alongside meal planning healthy meals I should hopefully see some changes. I’ve also signed up for a delivery of hello fresh for next week so will let you know how that goes. On Friday, at the request of my husband, who is randomly a soup enthusiast, I made a rather delicious asparagus soup. It was only 359 calories for the whole batch! The 2 buttered rustic rolls I had were more (oops) but it was yummy and I have a spare serving in the freezer for any desperate times when I havent got many calories to spare. I got the recipe from BBC Good Food, I love this website, I make quite a lot of dishes from there and they've all been good, if I do say so myself!

Saturday was my stepson's birthday which involved a trip to London Dungeons, followed by Frankie & Bennys and I had a more relaxed day. Knowing I had this coming up I just made sure that I ate better in my in all my other meals, instead of using it as an excuse to be naughty and surprisingly I didn’t have the urge to have a “final binge” probably because I’ve been bingeing the whole of bloody December!

I've decided Sundays are now to be "Self Care Sundays" I will decide on a meal plan for the coming week, fill in my Law of Attraction planner for the week, have a nice long soak, use a hair treatment, do a face mask and generally chill at home, so I started that this Sunday.

Monday was my first day back at work for two weeks, as well as my first session using the Nike app. Luckily, or so I thought, the session was a short endurance test, it shouldnt be so bad. I was very wrong! I peeled myself out of bed at 6:20am set myself up in the kitchen, which is the biggest space and got to work. Jesus Christ. I was in bits, it was only 8 minutes! The one I have scheduled for Friday is 45 minutes, I'm definitely going to schedule a wine in later that day!! No dry January here, I just drink less, the minute I tell myself I can't have something, I just want it more so I don't do it myself. Yes I know, I'm mental. After my workout and shower, I did the thing I had been dreading the most. Getting on the scales. I hadn't weighed myself since the end of November, precisely the time I threw caution to the wind on my diet and drank & ate my way through December. I actually got on and begged the scales out loud "please please please please!" Wow, I'd only gained 1lb. How did that happen? This set me up for the day and work was pretty painless, I'd pre made myself a chicken salad wrap for my lunch and a little pot of honey nut shredded wheat for breakfast. I have got this. I had a session with my counsellor at lunch time and I was feeling on top of the world, the most positive I had felt in a long time. Bring on 2019! I got home and made a spaghetti bolognaise, I halved the portion I usually serve and was surprised to find I was still full, I was expecting to still be hungry as it didn't look enough, we booked our holiday for our first wedding anniversary, so all in all a bloody good Monday.

I've got 33lbs to go until my goal weight and hoping to do this in 18 weeks. Wish me luck x


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page